Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Three Colors: Blue

Posted by martinteller on June 11, 2004

I tried not to spoil myself, so all I knew going in is that the three movies represent liberté, fraternité and égalité (pardon my French if I got that wrong). I didn’t know which was which, but Blue is quite obviously all about the liberty, which it explores from fascinating viewpoints, much like Decalogue gave new perspective on the commandments. The story of Julie’s frustrated quest for freedom (and its resolution) is quite moving and thought-provoking. Kieslowski’s artistry is clearly advanced since Decalogue, with a far more painterly, impressionistic touch. His use of music, and of course color, is extraordinary. Rating: 10

IMDb
Leave a Reply

 
