Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

House of Bamboo

Posted by martinteller on October 19, 2008

Despite being color, the tone is unmistakably noir, and I always enjoy watching noir.  The Tokyo setting is a nice twist, and Fuller makes good use of the locations.  The story is nothing new, but it’s a fun time with a thrilling ending.  I have yet to be all that impressed by Fuller, but this is my favorite of his so far, with a few very clever shots.  As a child of the 70’s and 80’s, however, I can’t look at Robert Stack without thinking about Airplane!.  “Do you know what it’s like to fall in the mud and get kicked in the head… with an iron boot? Of course you don’t, no one does. It never happens. It’s a dumb question, skip it.”  Rating: 7

IMDb

Leave a comment