Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Le Bonheur (Happiness)

Posted by martinteller on November 29, 2008

Astonishing.  Varda presents an idyllic world, bursting with brilliant colors (scenes fade in and out in different hues, though I don’t think there is any particular “code” to the colors) and lovely strains of Mozart and absolutely happiness and contentment for everyone.  There is no conflict in this movie.  But it raises a host of conflicts in the viewer, resulting in one of the most provocative and subversive films I’ve ever seen.  Varda never tips her hand, never lets you know how she feels about what the characters are doing, or how you should feel.  There is only an occasional uneasiness in the editing and a growing sense of dread in the observer.  My favorite Varda so far.  Rating: 9

IMDb

Leave a comment