Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

The Scent of Green Papaya (rewatch)

Posted by martinteller on April 29, 2011

What a joy it is to have this achingly gorgeous film on Blu-Ray.  For a film that delights so much in the details, a hi-def presentation is a must.  It’s so easy to be swept away by the gentle beauty and rhythms of the film that you can overlook how sad it often is.  All around Mui are longings, tragedies, exploitation, cruelty, jealousy.  Throughout it all she remains a nearly silent agent of nurturing, a Buddha-like figure observing and absorbing, finding joy in the little things, perhaps because she herself is a little thing.  A magnificently understated film that is endlessly rewarding.  This is my fifth time watching it and I haven’t begun to tire of it.  Rating: 10

IMDb
5 Responses to “The Scent of Green Papaya (rewatch)”

  1. nancy said

    whoa – just added to my queue. It is a “very high demand” movie. Thanks –
    n

    • I also highly recommend THE VERTICAL RAY OF THE SUN, by the same director. Both are in my top 100.

      • nancy said

        OK – just watched Scent! Loved it. How can such a quiet movie be so gripping? At the risk of being too literal, do you believe the ending was a fantasy, or real? Will put Vertical into my queue now.

      • Yay! Very glad you enjoyed it. I often find the quietest movies are the most gripping, they make you pay closer attention. I do not think the ending was a fantasy, but that’s an interesting possibility.

      • nancy said

        Did you like Goodbye, Dragon Inn? I will search for your review. Vertical is “unavailable”. Someday….

Leave a Reply

 
