Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Cairo Station (rewatch)

Posted by martinteller on June 9, 2012

This will probably sound exactly like my review from last year, my opinion hasn’t changed at all.  The story of Qinawi (director Youssef Chahine), a lame vagabond discovered by the newspaper salesman Madbouli (Hassan el Baroudi) at the train station.  Madbouli gives him a job, but has some concerns about the scads of pin-up pictures papering the walls of his ramshackle shed.  Indeed, Qinawi is severely lusting after Hanouma (Hind Rostom), a gal who sells soda pop on the trains.  Hanouma coyishly leads him on, despite no intentions of having anything to do with him.  She’s betrothed to Abu-Serih (Farid Shawqi), a burly porter trying to unionize his fellow workers.  Qinawi’s frustrated desire takes a sinister turn, and he starts getting inspiration from the headlines about a murderer on the loose.  A string of knives dangles in the foreground, and a smiling salesman emerges behind them.  “Can I help you?”  Oh yes, Mr. Knife Salesman.  You certainly can.

With restless cinematic energy, Chahine builds a noirish thriller with psychosexual themes that recall Hitchcock and Buñuel.  Qinawi’s lustful obsession permeates the film, building to a stunning and frantic crescendo.  Chahine does a marvelous job in the lead role, giving the character a vulnerable innocence tainted by dark desires and sexual frustration.  Rostom is also amazing, an Egyptian Marilyn Monroe or Brigitte Bardot, bristling with wanton mischief.  She knows the effect she has on men, and she knows how to exploit it… what she doesn’t know yet are the potential consequences.  Her relationship with Shawqi (another fine performance) is both sweet and disturbing, its playful tenderness undercut by a moment of raging abuse.

Banned for 20 years for its lurid content, it also packs a political punch.  The station is the country in miniature, with its citizens struggling for representation in the workplace, progression of the feminist movement, an escape from oppressive law enforcement, and freedom to indulge in a changing society that includes rock music and a less repressive sexual culture.  And furthermore, the film does it all with narrative tension and a wonderful sense of style.  There are absolutely electrifying moments and brilliant shots, with evocative (and sometimes ironic) use of music.  The train station is presented of a place where danger looms, and there are several menacing close-ups of heavy machinery at work.

I still need to check out more by Chahine (Alexandria…Why? was an interesting film but with some noticeable flaws), although I’d be surprised if any are as memorable and exciting as this.  I should also make an effort to see what else Rostom — apparently quite a star in Egypt, and deservedly so — has done.  In the meantime, it was a joy to revisit this one, a magnificent piece of work.  Rating: Masterpiece

IMDb
4 Responses to “Cairo Station (rewatch)”

  1. Kevyn Knox said

    For years now I have been fascinated with the career of Mr. Chahine, but not until just last year (about this time I believe) did I get the chance to actually see one of his films. It was Cairo Station and I must say I was blown away. Thanks to my running an arthouse cinema here in Harrisburg Pa, I am lucky enough to have been able to project it onto the big screen. Did I mention I was blown away? Well I was!

    You touch on Hitchcock and Buñuel, and I must say these are two of the directors I immediately had brought to mind as well. I would add Renoir as well. From its noir aspects to its poetic realism to that fantastic song and dance number, Cairo Station is a beautiful and succulent work of cinema. A stunning film. A mesmerizing film. A masterpiece indeed – and that is a word I do not like to toss around willy-nilly. As soon as I watched it, I had to go and make room for it on my all-time Top 100 list.

    • Thanks again for your eloquent comments! How was the reception for the film among your theatergoers? I’d love to see it on the big screen with an appreciative audience.

      • kevynknox said

        Oh I never showed it as a public thing. Rights and all that, not sure if I am legally allowed to. It was just me, my wife and some friends. We all loved it though.

  2. […] Name: martinteller Caro Station (rewatch) Submitted by: martinteller Site Name: Blueprint Review Ozu – Three Melodramas Submitted by: […]

Leave a Reply

 
