Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Yearly Roundup – 1938

Posted by martinteller on September 14, 2012

The Cream of the Crop

Kind of a slim year, at least for me.  But I dearly love the Grant/Hepburn romantic comedy Holiday, with tons of charm and great supporting performances too.  I vastly prefer it to the more grating Bringing Up Baby.  Probably won’t ever be precious enough to me to make my top 100 list, but it’s still one of my favorites from classic Hollywood.

*

Slightly Less Creamy, But Still Tasty

One of my favorite pre-Hollywood Hitchcocks: The Lady Vanishes.  So tightly constructed but feels absolutely breezy.  And although I adore Audrey Hepburn, I’ll take Asquith’s delightful adaptation of Pygmalion over My Fair Lady any day.  Perfect casting in Wendy Hiller and Leslie Howard.

*

Varying Degrees of Like

The Adventures of Robin Hood
The Baker’s Wife
Jezebel
The Masseurs and a Woman
Olympia
Port of Shadows
You Can’t Take It With You

 *

Varying Degrees of Hate

none!

 *

Some Notable Films In The Middle

Adventure in Sahara
Alexander Nevsky
Angels With Dirty Faces
La Bete Humaine
Bringing Up Baby
The Childhood of Maxim Gorky
Three Comrades

*

Uncharted Territory

Bluebeard’s Eighth Wife, Boys Town, Carefree, A Christmas Carol, The Citadel, The Dawn Patrol, Hotel du Nord, The Mad Miss Manton, The Marseillaise, Room Service, The Shopworn Angel, The Terror of Tiny Town, Three Comrades, Vivacious Lady, You and Me

3 Responses to “Yearly Roundup – 1938”

  1. I love Bringing Up Baby, so I should check out Holiday. And I affirm your love of Pygmalion over My Fair Lady. I love the music of MFL, but the acting is better in Pygmalion. Although the over-the-top performance of Harrison is missed.

Leave a Reply

 
