Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Yearly Roundup – 1968

Posted by martinteller on October 24, 2012

The Cream of the Crop

Two from my top 100 this year.  Some day in the near future I hope to post a proper review of 2001: A Space Odyssey but it’s tough to write about a film that’s been so thoroughly analyzed.  It’s a masterfully crafted film that holds up perfectly today, iconic and always thought-provoking.  Shame is a relatively overlooked entry in Bergman’s filmography, but I find it one of his best, a stunning and multi-layered look at conflict and combat.

*

Slightly Less Creamy, But Still Tasty

Bondarchuk’s epic War and Peace just missed the top 100 list, primilarily because I’m waiting for a proper DVD/Blu-Ray release before I rewatch it.  And I had to cut The Bride Wore Black from the 100 — and in fact even the top 250 — after a second viewing, but I still think it’s a wonderful movie.  And it’s a double-dose of prime Truffaut with Stolen Kisses, another fine entry in the Antoine Doinel series.  Faces is Cassavetes in peak form, with stellar performances as usual.  Herzog makes a good impression with his first feature, Signs of Life.  Although I haven’t yet seen Diary of a Shinjuku Thief from the same year, Three Resurrected Drunkards is one of my favorites by Oshima, very playful.

*

Varying Degrees of Like

Bullitt
Capricious Summer
The Color of Pomegranates
L’enfance nue
Genocide
Goke, Body Snatcher from Hell
Goopy Gyne Bagha Byne
High School
Hour of the Furnaces
Hour of the Wolf
If…
Je t’aime, je t’aime
Kill!
Kuroneko
The Living Skeleton
Memories of Underdevelopment
Monterey Pop
Night of the Living Dead
Once Upon a Time in the West
Pretty Poison
The Producers
Rosemary’s Baby
Salesman
Symbiopsychotaxiplasm: Take One
Teorema
Valley of the Bees
Yellow Submarine

 *

Varying Degrees of Hate

Chronicle of Anna Magdalena Bach
Fando y Lis
The Lion in Winter
The Man Without a Map
The Party

 *

Some Notable Films In The Middle

The Cremator
Destroy All Monsters
Flickorna (The Girls)
The Great Silence
Oliver!
Planet of the Apes
They Call Us Misfits

*

Uncharted Territory

Barbarella, Charly, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, Danger: Diabolik, Death By Hanging, Diary of a Shinjuku Thief, Flesh, Funny Girl, Goto Island of Love, The Green Berets, Hang ‘Em High, Head, Hell in the Pacific, I Am Curious (Blue), Ice Station Zebra, The Love Bug, The Odd Couple, The Profound Desire of the Gods, Reconstruction, Le Révélateur, Romeo and Juliet, Targets, The Thomas Crown Affair, Up Tight!, Where Eagles Dare, Wild in the Streets, Witchfinder General

4 Responses to “Yearly Roundup – 1968”

  1. JamDenTel said

    What a great year for movies. 2001 and Producers are all-time favorite material for me, and I’m very fond of Faces, Rosemary’s Baby, War and Peace, and others.

    Targets is a fantastic film, a great swan song for Boris Karloff and a great debut for Bogdanovich. I recommend it highly.
    The Profound Desire of the Gods is a fascinating film, a bit long and repetitive, but beautifully made in all respects.
    I haven’t seen Witchfinder General, but it sounds like a really compelling look at witch-hunts–and a fine vehicle for Vincent Price.

  2. Funny Girl is Barbara Streisand’s best role, and some really good musical moments. A true musical biography.

    Once Upon a Time in the West would probably be my top film of this year.

    Interesting that you disliked The Lion in Winter when there’s been a bit of praise of it on the forum. It’s pretty high up on my list to watch. I’ll get to it in the next week or two. Do you dislike it because of it’s stagy-ness?

    • Can’t say I have much interest in Funny Girl, but I’m not totally opposed to seeing it. OUATITW is one I was very lukewarm on first, liked it a bit more on the second viewing. Still nowhere near the “Dollars” trilogy IMHO.

      The staginess of Lion in Winter is one among several reasons I don’t like it, and probably the main one. More criticisms are outlined in the review. I know that I’m in the minority on that film, though.

Leave a Reply

 
