Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Moonrise Kingdom (rewatch)

Posted by martinteller on October 27, 2012

After the first viewing, I didn’t quite have my thoughts organized and just blurted out a series of rough impressions.  I will flesh those thoughts out a tiny bit more now, but it’s basically just saying the same things in slightly more complete sentences.  I find it interesting that Anderson chose to set it in the mid-60’s.  All of his films have an anachronistic quality, places where cell phones and computers and modern music practically don’t exist.  Anderson creates worlds of nostalgic melancholy that are a pleasure to visit.  This film is consistently entertaining, aesthetically delightful (does anyone else have such a distinctive and thorough sense of production design?) and emotionally honest.  It really captures the tween experience, where the adventures of childhood are beginning to shift to the adventures of adulthood.  It’s a really sweet and enjoyable film.

Having said that, I was a bit less smitten than the first time around.  The same thing happened with Zissou and Darjeeling, although I still rank this movie above those (and still think Anderson has yet to make anything approaching a “bad” or even “meh” film).  It could be the theater experience vs. the home experience, or it could be that I was a bit caught up in the hype the first time, but for whatever reason I wasn’t swept away by it as much.  It may rebound — as Rushmore did — on a third viewing.  I don’t want to come off sounding as if I disliked it, far from it.  The Hank Williams doesn’t do much for me (I’d probably consider this the weakest of Anderson’s usually sterling soundtracks) but other than that I had a lovely time watching it.  I just overrated it a touch on the first go-round.  Rating: Very Good (85)

IMDb
Leave a Reply

 
