Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Yearly Roundup – 1972

Posted by martinteller on October 29, 2012

The Cream of the Crop

Werner Herzog is one of my favorite directors, and Aguirre: The Wrath of God is my favorite film by him.  With assistance from Klaus Kinski’s unforgettable performance and Florian Fricke’s eerie score, it’s a strange, hypnotic journey into insanity.  Satyajit Ray is best known for his “Apu trilogy”, but I say his “Calcutta trilogy” is equally compelling.  Pratidwandi might be the best of the three, a very unconventional film for Ray but a very rich and effective one.

*

Slightly Less Creamy, But Still Tasty

I have almost nothing to say about The Godfather, except that it’s pretty much as great as its reputation indicates.  Relentlessly compelling stuff.  My first Buñuel was The Discreet Charm of the Bourgeoisie.  The initial viewing left me cold, but after I’d seen more of his work and fallen in love with his brand of humor, it all clicked with me.  On the other hand, Pakeezah is a film I didn’t like quite as much the second time around, but it’s still a beautiful film with fine drama and music.  I like Altman when he gets weird more than the acknowledged “classics”, and Images is a fine example of that.  1972 also brings what is easily my favorite by Kenneth Anger, the delirious Lucifer Rising.

*

Varying Degrees of Like

Avanti!
Buck and the Preacher
Cabaret
La Cabina
Chloe in the Afternoon
Cries and Whispers
The Death of Maria Malibran
Deliverance
Fat City
Female Convict Scorpion: Jailhouse 41
Female Prisoner #701: Scorpion
Frenzy
A Gorgeous Kid Like Me
The Getaway
The Harder They Come
The Inner Eye
Lone Wolf and Cub: Baby Cart at the River Styx
Lone Wolf and Cub: Baby Cart to Hades
Lone Wolf and Cub: Sword of Vengeance
Minamata
Pink Flamingos
Pink Floyd: Live at Pompeii
Play It Again, Sam
Slaughterhouse-Five
Sleuth
Solaris

 *

Varying Degrees of Hate

Ciao Manhattan
Fritz the Cat

*

Some Notable Films In The Middle

The Bitter Tears of Petra von Kant
Everything You Always Want to Know About Sex
Hotel Monterey
Last Tango in Paris
Ludwig
Out 1: Spectre
Rocker
Roma
The Ruling Class
Silent Running
Snoopy Come Home
Superfly
Tout va bien
La Vallée

*

Uncharted Territory

1776, Across 110th Street, Al-asfour, Anna and the Wolves, Arcana, Blacula, Boxcar Bertha, The Candidate, Chung Kuo – Cina, Fist of Fury, The Goalie’s Anxiety at the Penalty Kick, The Heartbreak Kid, The Inner Scar, Jeremiah Johnson, The King of Marvin Gardens, The Last House on the Left, Liza, Liza With a “Z”, Man of La Mancha, Minamata, My Childhood, Night of the Lepus, The Poseidon Adventure, Red Psalm, Summer Soldiers, The Way of the Dragon, What’s Up Doc?

2 Responses to “Yearly Roundup – 1972”

  1. JamDenTel said

    I really need to give AGUIRRE another shot. I don’t really remember why I didn’t like it, which is a good sign I didn’t have a good reason.

    I really liked SLAUGHTERHOUSE-FIVE; I haven’t read the novel yet (shame on me, I know), but I thought it was a real New Hollywood gem.

    1776 is a charming film with good songs and a reasonably restrained approach to the material. It’s not everyone’s cup of tea, but I enjoy it.

    • S5 (the movie) may be better or worse than I remember it, it’s been a long time. Vonnegut’s probably my favorite author, so obviously I recommend the book.

      I keep hearing good things about 1776 but can’t bring myself to try it. Definitely seems like not my cup of tea.

Leave a Reply

 
