Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Yearly Roundup – 1929-1930

Posted by martinteller on November 27, 2012

The Cream of the Crop

Before I get to the cream, I should mention that Jean Painlevé has a number of shorts from this period, ranging from hate to like with no extremes in either direction.  I don’t want to list them all, though.

Nothing from my current top 100, but one from a previous edition: The Man With a Movie Camera.  I don’t have the personal connection to it to include it among my favorites, but it is absolutely dazzling and in my opinion, the best of the “city symphony” films.  Also, I don’t include shorts in my top list, but if I did, Un Chien Andalou would have a good chance of making it.  Strange and funny and unforgettable.

*

Slightly Less Creamy, But Still Tasty

Regen and H2O are two shorts that both explore the beauty of water… lovely and abstract.  Somewhat sluggish in parts, but Asquith’s A Cottage on Dartmoor is a creepy and very stylish thriller.  One I’d like to watch again (but can’t bring myself to purchase it) is All Quiet on the Western Front, one of the great war films with impressive camerawork.

Update 3/19/2014: Two more to add here: Lucky Star and Le Roman de Renard.

*

Also Love

L’Age d’Or
Diary of a Lost Girl
The Love Parade
People on Sunday
A propos de Nice

*

Varying Degrees of Like

Animal Crackers
Asphalt
Blackmail

The Blue Angel
Brumes d’automne
City Girl
The Dawn Patrol
Hallelujah!
Morocco
Pandora’s Box
Tomatos Another Day
Under the Roofs of Paris

*

Varying Degrees of Hate

The Blood of a Poet
Les Mystères du château de Dé

*

Some Notable Films In The Middle

The Cocoanuts
Earth
Monte Carlo
Murder!
Queen Kelly
Romance sentimentale
Woman in the Moon

*

Uncharted Territory

Anna Christie, Another Fine Mess, Big Business, The Big Trail, The Broadway Melody, The Divorcee, Hell’s Angels, I Flunked But…, Juno and the Paycock, The Manxman

2 Responses to “Yearly Roundup – 1929-1930”

  1. JamDenTel said

    I really want to see Le Roman de Renard (as well as The Mascot), and I’ll have to check out All Quiet at somepoint. Otherwise, this really is one of the weakest eras for film.

Leave a Reply

 
