Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Yearly Roundup – 1953

Posted by martinteller on January 16, 2013

The Cream of the Crop

I’m adding a new thing to the Yearly Roundups.  From now on, titles in bold under the “Uncharted Territory” section are ones that are on my watchlist (i.e., I intend to get to them at some point).  If they aren’t bold, that doesn’t mean I have zero interest or wouldn’t see it, it’s just not a priority to me.

It’s a noir year, but I’ve got to hand the crown to Bergman.  He’d shown flashes of brilliance before, but Sawdust and Tinsel might be the first one where he truly nails it.  Incredibly insightful and visually stunning.  Harriet Andersson is a treasure.

*

Slightly Less Creamy, But Still Tasty

Bergman strikes again this year with the gorgeous Summer With Monika.  Although I have a few issues with it, it gets better and better each time I see it.  Buñuel delivers the brilliant, witty and compelling El (a.k.a. This Strange Passion)… one of his lesser-known works, but it shouldn’t be.  Tati introduces his enduring character in the charming M. Hulot’s Holiday.  And I haven’t forgotten the noir!  It took a second viewing for Pickup on South Street to click with me, but it clicked in a big, big way.  And Ida Lupino proved that the ladies can do dark and mean just as well as the boys with The Hitch-Hiker, a glorious slice of noir.

*

Also Love

99 River Street
Anatahan
Bienvenido Mister Marshall
The Earrings of Madame de…
A Geisha
Tokyo Story
Ugetsu

*

Varying Degrees of Like

All I Desire
The Big Heat
El Bruto
The Caddy
City That Never Sleeps
The Cruel Sea
Dangerous Crossing
Gentlemen Prefer Blondes
The Glass Wall
The Golden Coach
I Love Melvin
The Naked Spur
Niagara
Roman Holiday
Scared Stiff
Stalag 17
Violated
I Vitelloni
The Wages of Fear
The Wild One

*

Varying Degrees of Hate

Bad for Each Other
Cat-Women of the Moon
Fear and Desire
Indiscretion of an American Wife (Terminal Station)
The Seafarers
Shane
The Sun Shines Bright
The War of the Worlds

*

Some Notable Films In The Middle

The Band Wagon
The Beast from 20,000 Fathoms
The Blue Gardenia
A Blueprint for Murder
From Here to Eternity
I, the Jury
I Confess
Jeopardy
The Limping Man
Marty (Philco Television Playhouse)
Money from Home
Second Chance
Vicki

*

Uncharted Territory

The 5,000 Fingers of Dr. T., Aijin, Beat the Devil, The BigamistThe Blue Revolution, Calamity Jane, The Desert Rats, Gate of Hell, The Glass Web, Glen or Glenda, The Glenn Miller Story, Hondo, House of Wax, How to Marry a Millionaire, Invaders from Mars, It Came From Outer Space, A Japanese Tragedy, Jennifer, Julius Caesar, Kiss Me Kate, Man in the Dark, Man on a Tightrope, Mogambo, Murder Without Tears, No Escape, Peter Pan, Pu-san, Robot Monster, Split Second, The System, Thérèse Raquin, Titanic, Tsuma, Wicked Woman, Youth of Heiji Senigata

7 Responses to “Yearly Roundup – 1953”

  1. I liked M. Hulot’s Holiday, but I never really hit it off with Tati. He’s funny, and he is commenting smartly on the society around him. But, I find that his comedy misses more than it hits with me, so while I have enjoyed Holiday and Oncle, he’s not a favorite of mine and I don’t see the greatness that so many others do.

  2. JamDenTel, said

    Well, Criterion will be releasing GATE OF HELL in April, so you can knock that one off the list (I certainly intend to).

    THE 5,000 FINGERS OF DR. T is a strange little movie. It’s not quite as good as I wanted it to be, but there’s really nothing else like it, especially from this time. So it might be worth a look.

    • Yes, I knew about the Criterion and will be checking it out whenever the library gets it (they’ve been slow in their acquisitions lately, to my great annoyance). I’ll look further into Dr. T.

  3. I love your list. Need to see Sawdust. I liked The Earrings Of Madame De…, but did not enjoy it, if that makes any sense. The story is touching and the cinematography was beautiful, but it did not reach me emotionally.

Leave a Reply

 
