Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Blazing Saddles (rewatch)

Posted by martinteller on February 10, 2013

Haven’t been in a big movie-watching mood today, but I knew something familiar and easy to watch would hit the spot.  Not in much of a movie-writing mood either, so this’ll be extra short.  The best endorsement I can give this film is that it still makes me laugh after what must be a dozen viewings or more.  Comedies don’t often have that much staying power with me, but this is one of the few that keeps on giving.  Not all of it works… the ending in particular is loaded with corny slapstick and wince-worthy gay jokes.  But I’d say somewhere around 75% of the gags in the movie are worth at least a smile, and I had at least fifteen good belly laughs.  This time around I was especially tickled by Harvey Korman.  Everything he says and does is hilarious.  I was never a big fan of “The Carol Burnett Show” in my youth, but maybe it’s time I gave it a fresh look.

Well, that’s about all I feel like writing at the moment.  I’ll close with this: somebody’s gotta go back and get a shitload of dimes.  Rating: Very Good (87)

IMDb
4 Responses to “Blazing Saddles (rewatch)”

  1. I go back and forth with this film. I agree with you; the ending is absolutely unnecessary. I did laugh at some parts, but after the watch I didn’t feel attached to the film.

  2. JamDenTel said

    I’m in kind of the same boat. Personally, I think SADDLES leans a little too heavily on in-jokes and self-reference (a problem I don’t have with YOUNG FRANKENSTEIN), but the funny parts of SADDLES are damned funny. And I’ll say right now, I don’t think Cleavon Little gets enough credit for his performance. It really is a fine balance he strikes between zany and straight man.

Leave a Reply

 
