Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Yearly Roundup – 1983

Posted by martinteller on February 26, 2013

The Cream of the Crop

Here’s one from my top 100: El Norte.  I’ve never written a satisfactory review of it, but I’ll never forget when I first saw it, in high school Spanish class.  It may have been the first foreign-language film I ever saw.  It quickly became one of my favorites, a beautiful movie with two of the most endearing central characters you’ll ever come across.  I acknowledge the film has some flaws, like how blatantly manipulative it is, but it will always hold a special place in my heart.

*

Slightly Less Creamy, But Still Tasty

It’s been quite a while since I last watched The King of Comedy, and thus don’t have a review of it written.  But if and when the Blu-Ray comes out, I’ll definitely buy it and write it up, because it’s hilarious and odd, with fantastic performances by De Niro, Lewis and Bernhard.  Carmen is one of Carlos Saura’s stunning dance movies, maybe the best of them.  And I’ll be rewatching Nostalghia soon, but my first impression was very strong indeed, with gorgeous imagery and elusive meaning.

*

Also Love

Ballad of Narayama
Local Hero
Zelig

*

Varying Degrees of Like

And the Ship Sails On
L’Argent
Crime and Punishment
Eddie Murphy: Delirious
The Girl Who Conquered Time
The Makioka Sisters
Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence
Pauline at the Beach
Richard Pryor: Here and Now
The Right Stuff
Style Wars
Sugar Cane Alley
El Sur
Three Crowns of a Sailor
Videodrome
Wild Style

*

Varying Degrees of Hate

Class
Cujo
Krull
Porky’s II: The Next Day
Rock & Rule
Superman III

*

Some Notable Films In The Middle

A nos amours
Barefoot Gen
The Big Chill
Christine
Confidentially Yours
The Day After
The Dead Zone
The Hunger
Monty Python’s The Meaning of Life
Mr. Mom
My Brother’s Wedding
Octopussy
Project A
Return of the Jedi
Risky Business
Rumble Fish
Sans soleil
Scarface
Strange Brew
Suburbia
Testament
Trading Places
Vacation
WarGames

*

Uncharted Territory

The 4th Man, All the Right Moves, Antarctica, Bill Cosby: Himself, Blue Thunder, Brainstorm, Breathless, Curse of the Pink Panther, Danton (seen part of), Le Dernier Combat, Easy Money, Eddie and the Cruisers, Educating Rita, Flashdance, The Gold Diggers, Hustruskolan, Jaws 3-D, Luk e-san, The Man With Two Brains, Never Cry Wolf, The Outsiders, Psycho II, Silkwood, Star 80, Staying Alive, Sudden Impact, Tender Mercies, Terms of Endearment, Twice Upon a Time, Twilight Zone: The Movie, Uncommon Valor, Valley Girl, Zu: Warriors of the Magic Mountain

One Response to “Yearly Roundup – 1983”

  1. Brad said

    I’d be really interested to find out your take on Psycho II if you ever get around to it. I know it has a bit of a cult following.

Leave a Reply

 
