Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Cat Soup (rewatch)

Posted by martinteller on March 21, 2013

I was getting sleepy but I wanted to squeeze in one more viewing, so I plucked this short off the rewatch pile.  As I just said in my review of Institute Benjamenta, surrealism usually works better in the short format, where it ends before you start to weary of non-sequitur.  And this is pure surrealism, stream-of-consciousness stuff without any particular intended meaning, just a journey of bizarre scenes that you are free to interpret however you like.

But there really isn’t a need for interpretation, it’s all so entertaining and odd.  You just go alone for the zany ride, no one part of it drags on too long.  Rarely is the cruel and disturbing made so adorable and hilarious.  I’ve been leaning on the heavy, somber stuff the past few days, it was a nice break to have some laughs.  It’s really a delightful (in a kind of sick way) mind trip.  Imaginative and unexpected and stylish.  Rating: Great (90)

IMDb
Leave a Reply

 
