Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Grizzly Man (rewatch)

Posted by martinteller on June 18, 2013

I now present my top 15 quotes from this movie, in no particular order.  8 from Herzog, 7 from Treadwell.  You can probably guess which is which.

1. I found that beyond the wildlife film, in his material lay dormant a story of astonishing beauty and depth.  I discovered a film of human ecstasies and darkest inner turmoil.  As if there was a desire in him to leave the confinements of his humanness and bond with the bears, Treadwell reached out, seeking a primordial encounter.  But in doing so, he crossed an invisible borderline.

2. I can feel the poop.  It’s warm.

3. He captured such glorious improvised moments…. As a filmmaker, sometimes things fall into your lap which you couldn’t expect, never even dream of.  There is something like an inexplicable magic of cinema.

4. I’ve always wished I was gay, it would have been a lot easier. You know, you can just bing-bing-bing.  Gay guys have no problem. I mean, they go to restrooms and truck stops and they perform sex, it’s like so easy for them and stuff…. I’m sure gay people have problems, too.

5. His rage is almost incandescent, artistic.  I have seen this madness before on a film set.

6. I can smell death all over my fingers.

7. He started to scrutinize his innermost being, his demons, his exhilarations.  Facing the lens of a camera took on the quality of a confessional.

8. Animals rule.  Timothy conquered.  Fuck you, Park Service!

9. In his action movie mode, Treadwell probably did not realize that seemingly empty moments had a strange, secret beauty.  Sometimes images themselves developed their own life, their own mysterious stardom.

10. I’ve had my troubles with the girls. Yeah, yeah. And I’ll tell you something, if Saturn was a female human, I can just see how beautiful she is as a bear.  I’ve always called her the Michelle Pfeiffer of bears out here.

11. I believe the common denominator of the universe is not harmony, but chaos, hostility, and murder.

12. Ghost, that hat is a very important hat.  Drop it!  Hey!  Oh, goddamn it!  I can’t believe this!  Ghost!  Ghost, where’s that fucking hat?

13. Jewel, you must never listen to this…. I think you, you should not keep it.  You should destroy it.  I think that’s what you should do.  Because it will be the white elephant in your room all your life.

14. I have no idea if there’s a God.  But if there’s a God, God would be very, very pleased with me.  If he could just watch here, how much I love them, how much I adore them, how respectful I am to them.  How I am one of them.

15. And what haunts me, is that in all the faces of all the bears that Treadwell ever filmed, I discover no kinship, no understanding, no mercy. I see only the overwhelming indifference of nature.

Rating: Great (90)

IMDb
Leave a Reply

 
