Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

July 2013 Recap

Posted by martinteller on August 1, 2013

27 new viewings
4 rewatches (2 unreviewed)

Best new discovery: Two Living, One Dead (honorable mention: The Scarlet Letter)
Worst new discovery: The Man Without a Map

The slowest month I’ve had since August 2012.  I actually watched more than this, but the others were screenings for a film festival so I’m not really counting them (although I guess there’s no reason I shouldn’t).  I just haven’t been as jazzed about movies with all the other stuff going on in my life.  I’ve also stopped doing the “Yearly Roundup” posts on my blog because I got super bored with those.

Still, I did see two great films this month, and a number of really good ones.  I’m not sure if and when I’ll get back to my previous level of enthusiasm, but I certainly haven’t given up on movies or anything like that.  I view it more as scaling it back from an unhealthy obsession to a passionate hobby.

2 Responses to “July 2013 Recap”

  1. Danny said

    I had to do the same thing a couple of years back– realized I’d become so obsessed with completing lists that I was spending all of my time watching movies that didn’t interest me. And then I always felt pressured to watch at least a movie a day or I was falling behind. Ugh, it was horrible. Luckily I managed to funnel that passion into blogging. And grad school, to a lesser extent. Either way, good luck! It can be a tough habit to dial down.

    • Yep, I know that pressure. I’m going through some exciting life changes and don’t feel it as much anymore. As should be evident from the less frequent activity on this blog, I’m not having any problems dialing this habit down. Thanks for your insights!

Leave a Reply

 
