Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Girl Walk // All Day (rewatch)

Posted by martinteller on November 9, 2013

When I first watched this six months ago, I felt that it had strong top 100 potential, but a second viewing was needed to make sure I wasn’t just swept up in the moment.  Now I’ve had a second viewing (this time with my girlfriend, who also loved it) and yeah… this movie will most likely appear on the next revision of my 100 favorites.  It’s just pure joy on a screen.  Throughout most of it, my heart is leaping out of my chest with delight and happiness.

I do say “most of it”… if I’m going to be hyper-critical, there are a few spots where I start to feel like “Hmm, maybe I’ve had enough of this now.”  But something new and amazing and delightful is always right around the corner.  If I had anything else resembling a gripe, it’s that I kind of want to see the three characters come together in the end, have a final little capper where we see the three of them connecting in the midst of all this joyful dancing.  But perhaps it’s not needed.  Overall, it’s The Girl we really care about (although I’ve developed a big soft spot for The Creep) and what’s most important is seeing her living her dream, in that parade of happy dancing people.  My heart is leaping again just thinking about it.

Dismissing this as a long-form music video would be diminishing the definition of what movies can be.  I have no problem adding it to my top 100.  Rating: Masterpiece (96)

IMDb
Leave a Reply

 
