Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Open Hearts

Posted by martinteller on January 17, 2014

I’m not in a writing mood right now, and I don’t have much to say about this movie anyway.  But I know if I don’t write something now, the film is going to start fading from my memory so I’d better just bang this out.  I found the story engaging enough, although the ending feels a little too neat and tidy.  The rest of the film is so cynical and bitter (only Marie doesn’t act like a heel in some way) that this relatively upbeat note at the end felt out of step.  The performances are all genuine, I especially liked Paprika Steen (Marie).  Nikolaj Lie Kaas may have overdone the frowny expressions a bit, even for someone recently turned into a quadriplegic.

It’s a fine movie that makes good use of the Dogme 95 restrictions… it does break the non-diegetic music rule within the first minute, but few Dogme films adhere strictly to the rules.  There’s an honesty and immediacy to it, and you can easily contemplate how you might act in any of the characters’ shoes.  However, I didn’t get a whole lot out of it.  When it was over, I just felt like “Well, that happened.”  Rating: Good (74)

IMDb
Leave a Reply

 
