Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Yearly Roundup – 1936

Posted by martinteller on March 3, 2014

The Cream of the Crop


This is a very light year for me.  Nothing especially dear to me was released in 1936.  In fact, except for Sisters of the Gion and Sabotage (oddly, neither of which are among my favorites of the year)nothing I’ve seen more than once.  But my highest-rated film is Renoir’s short A Day in the Country, a.k.a. Une partie de campagne.  My brief review probably covers everything I have to say until I set aside some time to revisit it, but I do vividly recall the movie’s stunning use of natural light.

*

Slightly Less Creamy, But Still Tasty

Renoir pops up again with the very enjoyable Le crime de Monsieur Lange, an all-around delightful movie.  Screwball comedy often rubs me the wrong way, but My Man Godfrey hit the spot and stands as one of my favorites in the genre.

*

Also Love

Dodsworth
Libeled Lady
Modern Times
The Only Son
Swing Time

*

Varying Degrees of Like

By the Bluest of Seas
Camille
César
Fury
The Lower Depths
Morning’s Tree-Lined Street
Mr. Thank You
Osaka Elegy
Redes
Rose Hobart
Sabotage
Secret Agent
Sisters of the Gion
Soigne ton gauche
The Story of a Cheat

*

Varying Degrees of Hate

Reefer Madness

*

Some Notable Films In The Middle

Kliou the Tiger
Mr. Deeds Goes to Town
The Petrified Forest
Things to Come

*

Uncharted Territory

After the Thin Man, The Charge of the Light Brigade, Desire, The Devil-Doll, Dracula’s Daughter, Follow the Fleet, The Great Ziegfeld, The Prisoner of Shark Island, San Francisco, Show Boat

Leave a Reply

 
