Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Yearly Roundup – 1942

Posted by martinteller on April 1, 2014

The Cream of the Crop

/
Haven’t seen a lot from this year, and there’s nothing left that I particularly want to see at the moment.  I’d call it a pretty “lean” year, except for one little thing.  Casablanca is rightfully regarded by many as one of the greatest movies of all time, and it currently holds the #3 spot on my own list.  I have yet to write more than a couple of brief sentences about Casablanca, but I’ve never felt a need to.  The movie speaks for itself… it’s like some sort of natural phenomenon, a perfect movie that just emerged out of the earth.

*

Slightly Less Creamy, But Still Tasty

Like I said, it’s a lean year.  The only movie I have for this section is one of several works by Orson Welles that were butchered by a studio: The Magnificent Ambersons.  I’ve stopped hoping for a miracle that will give us the film as Welles wanted it… at this point, I’ll just settle for a decent Blu-Ray release.  Maybe not one of his most distinctive works, but a wonderfully crafted story.

*

Also Love

In Which We Serve
Listen to Britain

 

*

Varying Degrees of Like

Bambi
Cat People
The Glass Key
Johnny Eager
The Man Who Came to Dinner
Now, Voyager
The Palm Beach Story
Saboteur
The Talk of the Town
There Was a Father
 This Gun for Hire
The Undying Monster

*

Varying Degrees of Hate

Street of Chance

*

Some Notable Films In The Middle

I Married a Witch
Moontide
Sherlock Holmes and the Voice of Terror
To Be or Not to Be
Les visiteurs du soir
Went the Day Well?
Yankee Doodle Dandy

*

Uncharted Territory

Across the Pacific, For Me and My Gal, The Ghost of Frankenstein, Holiday Inn, The Major and the Minor, Mrs. Miniver, The Pride of the Yankees, Road to Morocco, Woman of the Year

Leave a Reply

 
