Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Yearly Roundup – 1997

Posted by martinteller on April 3, 2014

The Cream of the Crop

Although none of my absolute favorites come from 1997, there’s still a lot of really good movies.  Going by my Criticker ratings, Princess Mononoke comes out on top.  It’s been 11 years since I saw it and I was blown away by it.  Why haven’t I revisited it?  Part of me is waiting for a Blu-Ray release, but another part is afraid the magic will be gone.  To be honest, I’m not sure I wouldn’t rather put something from my “slightly less creamy” section here instead, but until I rewatch it, I’ll trust my initial judgment of this movie.  I do look forward to seeing it again, but at this point it’s been so long that I might as well just keep waiting for that Blu-Ray release.

*

Slightly Less Creamy, But Still Tasty

I don’t like to use shorts for the “Cream of the Crop”, but tied with Mononoke is Stan Brakhage’s Commingled Containers, one of my very favorites by him.  Jafar Panahi’s The Mirror is a fascinating slice of meta-filmmaking.  I’m not the biggest Paul Thomas Anderson fan in the world, but I’ll always have a soft spot for Boogie NightsMother and Son has some of the most beautiful — and unusual — cinematography I’ve ever seen.  Another beautiful and mysterious film is Majewski’s The Roe’s Room, a haunting bit of filmic poetry.  Lastly, although many are put off by Michael Haneke’s finger-wagging, I find Funny Games to be a remarkably powerful piece of work.

*

Also Love

A Casa
Children of Heaven
Fireworks
In the Company of Men
In the Presence of a Clown
Jackie Brown
Labyrinth of Dreams
The River
Romy and Michele’s High School Reunion
The Sweet Hereafter

*

Varying Degrees of Like

4 Little Girls
Alien: Resurrection
As Good As It Gets
Austin Powers: International Man of Mystery
The Castle
Cure
Deconstructing Harry
Fierce Creatures
The Fifth Element
Fun Bar Karaoke
Gattaca
Good Will Hunting
Gummo
The Ice Storm
L.A. Confidential
Life is Beautiful
Live Flesh
The Long Way Home
Lost Highway
The Spanish Prisoner
Starship Troopers
Titanic
Trekkies
Welcome Back, Mr. McDonald

*

Varying Degrees of Hate

8 Heads in a Duffel Bag
Devil’s Advocate
Face/Off
The Shining (miniseries)

*

In The Middle

Chasing Amy
Contact
Cop Land
The Eel
Fast, Cheap & Out of Control
The Game
Grosse Pointe Blank
Happy Together
Inside/Out
Little Dieter Needs to Fly
Men in Black
Mr. Nice Guy
Orgazmo
Ossos
Private Parts
Running Time
Spice World
A Taste of Cherry
Tomorrow Never Dies
Who’s the Caboose?

*

Uncharted Territory

Affliction, Air Force One, An Ambiguous Report About the End of the World, Amistad, The Apostle, Batman & Robin, Con Air, Cube, Donnie Brasco, Eighteen Springs, Eve’s Bayou, Event Horizon, The Full Monty, Hands on a Hard Body, Henry Fool, Hercules, I Know What You Did Last Summer, Insomnia, Keep Cool, The Kingdom II, Kundun, Liar Liar, The Lost Word: Jurassic Park, Ma vie en rose, Made in Hong Kong, My Best Friend’s Wedding, Nil By Mouth, Pajarico, The Postman, Public Housing, The Saint, Scream 2, Seven Years in Tibet, Smilla’s Sense of Snow, Speed 2, Suicide Kings, Train of Shadows, Ulee’s Gold, Waco: The Rules of Engagement, Wag the Dog

4 Responses to “Yearly Roundup – 1997”

  1. mountanto said

    The Fifth Element is pretty easily my #1 for this year so far, unless you count The Kingdom II (which I don’t quite, since it’s a miniseries), which IS awesome…

  2. Gahn BKK said

    ,Princess Mononoke is way over rated. It’s a messy story with clumsily executed.But it’s visually stunning anime.
    –Three and a half stars for me–

Leave a Reply

 
