Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Yearly Roundup – 2001

Posted by martinteller on April 7, 2014

The Cream of the Crop

/

The early 2000’s were a particularly busy time for me, movie-wise.  I was in a relationship where our weekend routine usually involved at least one movie in the theater.  It led to a lot of mediocre movie viewings.  Interestingly, although there are four films from this year in my top 100, none were ones I saw in the theater, but discovered only later on DVD.  Weird that I didn’t go see Mulholland Drive on the big screen, since Lynch was and is one of my favorite directors.  It’s one of his best works, one that richly deserves a Blu-Ray release.  Although I was familiar with Wes Anderson through his earlier films, it was The Royal Tenenbaums that really turned me into a fan.  I believe What Time Is It There? was my introduction to Ming-liang Tsai, a director I now worship.  And Amelie is simply adorable, the Manic Pixie Dream Girl who takes center stage rather than acts as a catalyst for a male protagonist.

*

Slightly Less Creamy, But Still Tasty

Here we have one that I did see in the theater… in fact, even waited in line for the midnight opening.  Although I no longer have the same affection I once did for the “Lord of the Rings” trilogy, The Fellowship of the Ring still holds up as very entertaining viewing.  And so does the surrealist anime short Cat Soup, a wild and unpredictable ride.  And for courtroom drama that will get your blood boiling, the documentary Murder on a Sunday Morning is a riveting piece.

*

Also Love

All About Lily Chou-Chou
The Happiness of the Katakuris
Japanese Devils
Lagaan: Once Upon a Time in India
The Others
Take Care of My Cat
Tape
Zoolander

*

Varying Degrees of Like

A.I.: Artificial Intelligence
Black Hawk Down
La ciénaga
Conspiracy
Donnie Darko
Enigma
Fat Girl
Ghost World
Gosford Park
Heist
Hell House
Invincible
The Man Who Wasn’t There
Memento
Monsoon Wedding
Monster’s Ball
Monsters, Inc.
Moulin Rouge!
My Sassy Girl
Nowhere in Africa
Ocean’s Eleven
The Piano Teacher
The Pledge
Pulse
Scratch
Stanley Kubrick: A Life in Pictures
Startup.com
Training Day
The Tunnel
Under the Skin of the City
Waking Life
Wet Hot American Summer

 

*

Varying Degrees of Hate

15 Minutes
American Pie 2
America’s Sweethearts
The Anniversary Party
A Beautiful Mind
The Curse of the Jade Scorpion
Hardball
Harvard Man
I Am Sam
In Praise of Love
The Invisible Circus
K-PAX
Serendipity

*

In The Middle

13 Conversations About One Thing
25 Watts
The Accidental Spy
Bartleby
The Beaver Trilogy
Behind Enemy Lines
CQ
Crazy/Beautiful

The Devil’s Backbone
Enemy at the Gates
The Fast Runner
Focus
Frailty
From Hell
The Grey Zone
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone
Home Movie
Ichi the Killer
Kandahar
The Last Castle
Legally Blonde
Life as a House
Made
Mademoiselle
Millennium Actress
Millennium Mambo
Monrak Transistor
Session 9
Shrek
Spy Game
Super 8 Stories
Vanilla Sky
Visitor Q
Y Tu Mama Tambien
Winged Migration

*

Uncharted Territory

Ali, Behind the Sun, Big Mama, Blow, Bridget Jones’s Diary, Brotherhood of the Wolf, Bully, Chaos, Children Underground, Dogtown and Z-Boys, Domestic Violence, Evolution, Bubble Boy, The Fast and the Furious, Freddy Got Fingered, Ghosts of Mars, Hannibal, Harmful Insect, Hedwig and the Angry Inch, Human Nature, Icon of Cool, In the Bedroom, Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back, Jeepers Creepers, Josie and the Pussycats, Jurassic Park III, The Mexican, No Man’s Land, One Man Up, Pearl Harbor, Planet of the Apes, Pootie Tang, The Princess Diaries, Sex and Luica, Sexy Beast, Shaolin Soccer, The Son’s Room, Spy Kids, Storytelling, Swordfish, Trouble Every Day, The Wedding Planner, Wit

2 Responses to “Yearly Roundup – 2001”

  1. Some wonderful films here Martin. The Royal Tenenbaums is one of my all time favourites, although I only discovered it years later. Fellowship Of The Ring was a revelation too. Have to admit though that American Pie 2 and Jurassic park 3 can be found on my list of guilty pleasures!

Leave a Reply

 
