Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Yearly Roundup – 1927-1928

Posted by martinteller on April 16, 2014

The Cream of the Crop

There are some pretty hugely respected films from these two years, films that repeatedly show up near the top of various canonical lists.  Some eyebrows will probably be raised at the fact that neither Sunrise nor The Passion of Joan of Arc (both in the top 20 of TSPDT’s list) is among my favorites from this period.  To be honest, both are films I really need to see again, it’s been 10 years and my cinematic sensibilities have developed a lot since then.  Or maybe they just aren’t my cup of tea.  My favorite for 1927-28 is another one I’ve seen only once, and that was 6 years ago.  So perhaps my feelings about Napoleon would be different now as well, but at the time I found it gripping and masterful.  Let’s hope the restored version hits Blu-Ray sooner rather than later, I’d love to have a second look at it.

*

Slightly Less Creamy, But Still Tasty

There was a time when Metropolis made my top 100.  When I watched it a second time, I had a few quibbles that dampened my affection for it a bit, but it still resides in my top 250.  There are some great films from the two titans of silent comedy.  The Cameraman is perhaps my favorite Buster Keaton, and although I’m not a fan of Charlie Chaplin, I truly loved The Circus.  We have a pair of fantastic dramas: Victor Sjostrom’s The Wind and Paul Leni’s The Man Who Laughs.  And what a fine time for surreal and experimental shorts, with my favorites being Ghosts Before Breakfast and La Coquille et le Clergyman.

*

Also Love

The Docks of New York
L’Etoile de mer
The Last Command
The Passion of Joan of Arc
Spies
Storm Over Asia
Sunrise

*

Varying Degrees of Like

7th Heaven
Arsenal
Berlin: Symphony of a Great City
The Cat and the Canary
The End of St. Petersburg
The Fall of the House of Usher
The Life and Death of 9413, A Hollywood Extra
Lonesome
Steamboat Bill, Jr.

The Telltale Heart
The Wedding March

*

Varying Degrees of Hate

none

*

In The Middle

L’Argent
College
The Crowd
The Lodger
The Love of Zero
October
Underworld
The Unknown

*

Uncharted Territory

Champagne, The Divine Woman, Downhill, Easy Virtue, The Farmer’s Wife, It, The Jazz Singer, Jujiro, The Kid Brother, The King of Kings, The Ring, Show People, Steamboat Willie, Street Angel, The Student Prince in Old Heidelberg, Underground, Wings

2 Responses to “Yearly Roundup – 1927-1928”

  1. mountanto said

    The restored version of Napoleon is a double-edged sword. It’s awesome to have all the footage we can, but some of it–one subplot in particular–was better left on the cutting room floor.

Leave a Reply

 
