Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

a handful of rapid-fire mini-reviews

Posted by martinteller on July 30, 2014

There’s a bunch of movies I watched this month without a review, but here’s some very quick thoughts on them.  I’ll start with the rewatches, though none of these reflect any change in opinion from previous viewings:

All That Heaven Allows is Sirk’s best film (though I think I’m more fond of Imitation of Life, despite its flaws).  Lovely and full… a weepie that tells you “To hell with your shitty kids”.  Rating: Great (92)

Midnight takes a little while to get cooking, but the script is sharp and witty throughout.  By the madcap climax, Ameche and Colbert are simply knocking it out of the park.  I like this one a little more than I did on my first viewing.  Rating: Very Good (87)

I still think The Descent is a great thriller up until the creatures/mutants/whatever show up, at which point it becomes rather silly.  They’re just not needed, the story of the women stuck in a cavern is scary enough, with intriguing interpersonal drama.  Also, I have less patience for gore than I used to.  Rating: Fair (62)

A Matter of Life and Death would be a top 100 movie for me, if not for the hokey British/American stuff in the trial.  It was my third time watching the film and still that bit feels out of place and tiresome.  I love everything else about the movie, though.  Such marvelous fantasy and romance.  Rating: Great (90)

And there’s also a couple of new viewings….

Where the Heart Is is… okay.  I think the movie condescends to its characters, much in the same way Junebug does.  Although I feel like Boys on the Side does this kind of thing better, it’s a pleasant enough watch.  I also have to say I didn’t mind Natalie Portman at all in this and she usually bugs me.  Rating: Fair (63)

Feds is ostensibly a comedy, but there’s very few laughs in it.  Utterly generic and predictable, a bit like a watered-down knockoff of Stripes, which was also written by Dan Goldberg.  However, Mary Gross is surprisingly compelling, and responsible for the best moments in this otherwise forgettable fluff.  Rating: Poor (51)

Leave a Reply

 
