Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

catch-up quick shots

Posted by martinteller on October 25, 2014

It’s been a week since my last post.  Sorry for the absence.  I’ve been in Kansas for a funeral, my aunt Nikki passed away earlier this week.  I must confess I wasn’t especially close to her, but I was very fond of her and she will be missed.  It was a lovely ceremony.  At any rate, there were a couple of movies I revisited before all that happened that I didn’t feel like doing long write-ups for.

It’s a bit disingenuous of me to call The Fox and the Hound a “rewatch” since the last time I saw it was when it came out and my memories were dim at best.  As I would expect from Disney, the movie is unbearably cutesy at times, with a lot of groan-worthy stuff (and forgettable songs).  Then it gets crazy dark and horrifying.  It didn’t thrill me in either mode, but I admit I got kinda choked up when Widow Tweed left Tod in the forest.  Rating: Fair (61)

I’ve written at length (well, lengthy for me) about American Movie before and don’t have anything to say that wouldn’t be repeating myself.  It’s the only documentary in my top 100 (unless you count Stop Making Sense) because it’s so rewatchable, probably because the film is more about personalities than information.  I just love spending time with these folks, some of them remind me of people I grew up with in the Midwest.  Rating: Masterpiece (97)

Leave a Reply

 
