Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

one last quickie for a while

Posted by martinteller on November 23, 2014

Tomorrow morning I’m off to Maui for a week, so this’ll probably be my last review until December.  My lady found Three Fugitives, one of her childhood favorites, on Netflix.  It was not as joyous as she remembered.  It’s not all bad… Short and Nolte have decent comic chemistry, I liked the grenade gag, Haskell Wexler’s cinematography is too good for this mess, and the ending is so nutso you have to give it credit.  As predictable as the rest of the movie is, I never in a million years would have expected it to end that way.  But too much of the film is loaded with dumb gags and formulaic beats, not to mention drenched in sap.  Most egregious is David McHugh’s awful, awful score.  I was not surprised to see that writer/director was also responsible for the abysmal The Dinner Game.  Rating: Poor (47)

Be back in a week!

Leave a Reply

 
