Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

two very quick ones

Posted by martinteller on January 10, 2015

As usual, I’m very late to the party, but Guardians of the Galaxy pretty much lives up to the hype.  I don’t usually go for superhero/comic book movies, but I like them a lot more when they don’t take themselves so friggin’ seriously.  This is mostly just a lot of fun and excitement.  Sometimes calling a movie “entertaining” is perceived as damning it with faint praise.  But sometimes entertaining is exactly what I crave.  I could imagine this being like the Star Wars for today’s youth, and I’ll be happy to check out future installments, especially when I’m not in the mood for a “thinky” movie.  Rating: Very Good (85)

Safe is a thinky movie, but the beauty of it is that it works just fine on the surface level, without pondering the possible interpretations and metaphors.  I watched the extras on Criterion’s new Blu-Ray before revisiting the film.  One of the things they talk about that I hadn’t thought about much before is how much the new-agey/culty “Wrenwood” retreat focuses on blaming the victim and making them feel like they’re responsible for getting sick and staying sick, and how this was fairly common thinking about AIDS for a time.  So that was yet another fascinating facet of this movie with so much depth and so many layers.  I don’t have anything else to say, I’m happy with my previous review.  No question, this will remain in my top 100.  Rating: Masterpiece (96)

2 Responses to “two very quick ones”

  1. Wendell said

    Haven’t seen Safe, but I had a ton of fun watching Guardians. Great post.

Leave a Reply

 
