Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes

Posted by martinteller on January 30, 2015

The CGI is good, often quite good.  But then sometimes it’s not as good, and you’re reminded that you’re watching a lot of fake things talk to and beat up other fake things.  And I just can’t get too invested in that.  Sometimes it feels like the longer the end credits scroll (some 9-10 minutes here), the less likely I am to care about what all those people made.  This is considerably more action-oriented than the first film, and kinda feels like watching a videogame.  And like just about every videogame, the story and characters are cobbled together from other, usually better movies.  The premise of this universe is intriguing and has possibilities, but I didn’t find this exploration of it as compelling as its predecessor.  Is there anything all that new in the dynamic between Caesar and Koba?  Also, Jason Clarke bores me.  Rating: Fair (63)

IMDb
2 Responses to “Dawn of the Planet of the Apes”

  1. Wendell said

    Ouch! This stings a bit because I loved it. I felt Caesar and Koba gave the film real emotion. And while it certainly has more action than the first, its still rather slow paced for a summer blockbuster. Therefore, I felt like I was transported to another world rather than watching something akin to a video game like Need for Speed which was hell bent on aping the video game thatspawned it. Yup, pun intended. Still, you articulated your point of view so I’m more than cool with it. Great review.

    • I got a little blowback about this review on the Filmspotting forum as well. I’ll repeat what I said there: if I’m THINKING about the CGI and the disconnect from reality, there’s a problem. I’m glad that others were able to immerse themselves in the story more easily, but I always felt at a distance.

Leave a Reply

 
