Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

They Shoot Pictures, Don’t They? 2015 Update

Posted by martinteller on February 14, 2015

Once again, the website “They Shoot Pictures, Don’t They?” has revised their list of the top 1000 movies, based on an aggregation of thousands of other polls.  There are 77 additions to the list.  Of these, there are 10 I have not seen:

689. Ulysses’ Gaze (1995) – Angelopoulos, Theo
738. Moi, un Noir (1958) – Rouch, Jean
777. Elephant [TV] (1989) – Clarke, Alan
795. Twenty Years Later (1985) – Coutinho, Eduardo
832. Taipei Story (1985) – Yang, Edward
859. Goddess, The (1934) – Wu Yonggang
861. Arabian Nights (1974) – Pasolini, Pier Paolo
968. Battle of Chile: Part 2, The (1976) – Guzmán, Patricio
969. Doomed Love [TV] (1978) – de Oliveira, Manoel
997. Hamlet [1964] (1964) – Kozintsev, Grigori

 

In previous years, I’ve attempted to see every film on the list.  Last year I finally achieved 100% completion.  This year… I just don’t care.  I would like to see The Goddess and there’s one or two others I wouldn’t mind checking out.  But for the most part, I’m not interested and no longer feel a compulsion to finish the list.  Will I miss out on something I would love?  Possibly.  I had low expectations for the long version of Out 1 and it turned out to be one of my favorite discoveries last year.  But I’m spending less time with movies these days, and have to budget it carefully.  And more Yang, Pasolini and de Oliveria just ain’t in the budget.

2 Responses to “They Shoot Pictures, Don’t They? 2015 Update”

  1. nancyforarciform said

    It’s very freeing to get rid of mental to-do lists that really aren’t necessary.

Leave a Reply

 
