Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief

Posted by martinteller on April 8, 2015

Well, this certainly isn’t the first exposé on the Scientology… I myself remember a chilling piece in Time magazine sometime in the late 80’s.  And it probably won’t be the last.  Nor should it be.  I felt I was pretty familiar with how awful they are, but this was both a refresher course and an update for me.  I haven’t being paying close attention to the “Church” so this Miscavige scumbag was news to me.  As a documentary, it’s compelling stuff, even when it’s telling you what you already know.  Really the main problem is there isn’t enough of it.  Scientology is so fucked up in so many ways that even in two hours you’re barely scratching the surface of it.  This ought to be a miniseries, and it ought to be updated every few years.  Rating: Very Good (83)

IMDb
3 Responses to “Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief”

  1. Have you read the book? It’s a phenomenal read. I haven’t gotten to see the doc yet – I have it recorded – but the book is fantastic. The “musical chairs” sequence alone is staggering.

  2. I guess I should have thought for a moment and realized you probably haven’t read the book if Muscavige was new to you. So, yeah. I feel dumb. But it’s still a good read.

Leave a Reply

 
