Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Far From Heaven

Posted by martinteller on September 26, 2003

Perhaps I am at a disadvantage here.  FFH is strongly influenced by the work of Douglas Sirk, which I have never seen.  Certainly the cinematography and design on this film are very well done, but I wasn’t blown away by it.  Moore plays yet another meek housewife, similar (but not identical) to her other role in a Haynes film, Safe.  I thought it was a fairly nice picture, but I found the message to be as outdated as the timeframe of the movie.  I dunno, it just did very little for me.  Rating: 6

IMDb
addendum 8/24/12: I should probably revisit this one, having since seen (and loved) All That Heaven Allows

Leave a comment