Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Even Dwarfs Started Small

Posted by martinteller on February 25, 2004

I believe I’ve mentioned how Herzog can be gimmicky.  This is the ultimate example of that.  A pack of mental patients takes over the institution and beseiges the director.  During the siege they play games, have a food fight, destroy just about everything they touch, terrorize chickens, murder a pig, crucify a monkey, set a car running in a perpetual circle, and somehow come across a camel.  The score is all African tribal music.  Oh, and did I mention that all of the actors are little people?  Yep, it’s gimmicky as all get-out.  I was certain I wouldn’t like this movie, and yet I found myself entranced by the weirdness of it all.  And even though it is odd to watch little people and hear their funny little voices, it would really be almost as strange if they were all regular actors.  At times one evens forgets that they’re dwarfs.  There’s only one scene that makes any issue at all of their size (when poor Hombre is trying to hop up onto the bed).  There may be little point to it all (one could say it makes some observations about sanity, or freedom, but that’d be a stretch) but it’s so entertainingly odd, and beautifully photographed, that it’s a pleasure to watch.  I think maybe I actually enjoy Herzog’s gimmicks, especially considering my least favorite so far is Stroszek which is also perhaps his least gimmicky.  Rating: 9

IMDb

Leave a comment