Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Nights of Cabiria

Posted by martinteller on February 9, 2007

Yay, I have a new favorite Fellini!  Giulietta Masina is absolutely magnificent reprising her role from The White Sheik.  She even tops her performance in La Strada.  She easily won my affection and my sympathy in this heartbreaking but absolutely lovely story.  When you see tragedy and disappointment heading Cabiria’s way, you hope and pray that she endures it.  Pretty much every scene was magnificent, but the episode with the hypnotist was incredibly touching.  Fellini masterfully balances each bit of sorrow with a touch of humor, and vice versa.  And the photography is stunning as well.  A wonderful film.  Rating: 10

IMDb

3 Responses to “Nights of Cabiria”

  1. This is my favorite Fellini as well. Masina is astounding in this film and wins you over in the very first scene you meet her. And that hypnotist scene is magnificent. Easily the best Fellini moment I’ve seen. It bums me out 8 1/2 and La Dolce Vita gets all the Fellini love while his more human films, like this one, and La Strada, seem to get lost in the shuffle.

    • I really need to rewatch La Strada… I have a feeling I’d enjoy it more now that I have a greater appreciation for Masina from Cabiria and Juliet of the Spirits.

      8 1/2 is really great, though.

  2. […] 145. Nights of Cabiria (1957, Federico Fellini) […]

Leave a comment