Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Reservoir Dogs (rewatch)

Posted by martinteller on February 8, 2008

Yet another Blu-Ray disc I didn’t need to buy.  I’m on the fence about it, though, and I’ve learned that when in doubt, hold on to it.  This is the birth of the Tarantino style, with the non-linear storytelling, flashy dialogue, filmic and pop culture references, and iconic characters.  But it’s not executed all that well… the acting isn’t that good and only a few scenes really sparkle.  And it’s all style, very little substance.  There’s not a lot of humanity to it.  Sometimes it just seems like an excuse for these guys to dress up in suits and act like big bad gangsters (it’s certainly a sausage party… the one woman in the entire film has no lines and gets shot after 10 seconds).  I dunno, it’s a tough one for me to rate.  I mostly enjoy watching it but then when it’s over I feel a slight sense of “well, that’s that”.  Rating: 7

IMDb

Leave a comment