Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Fear of Drowning

Posted by martinteller on November 1, 2009

I also watched this short companion piece, which explains some of the themes, symbols and influences behind Drowning By Numbers.  Some of it is pretty obvious, but some of it was enlightening.  He pointed out that some of the numbers occur in the dialogue, which had never occurred to me.  No wonder I couldn’t spot them all.  This kind of thing is so much better than the usual “working with so-and-so was wonderful” behind-the-scenes puff piece you usually see, I wish all movies had something like this.  Then again, most directors don’t put as much thought and layering into their work as Greenaway does.  Rating: 7

IMDb

Leave a comment