Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Dangerous Crossing

Posted by martinteller on February 25, 2010

A newlywed becomes entangled in a web of intrigue when her husband disappears from their honeymoon cruise.  It’s pretty much The Lady Vanishes on an ocean liner.  I don’t want to get TOO hung up on what’s a noir and what isn’t, but I’ll just say it doesn’t quite fit my perception of noir.  It is a fun little mystery/thriller, though.  It’s just a kick to watch, waiting to see what happens next, watching the heroine get more and more paranoid.  I don’t find Jeanne Crain very interesting (a bit too squeaky-clean Donna Reed-ish for me) but she handles the role well enough.  Likewise, Michael Rennie doesn’t do a whole lot for me as the sympathetic ship’s doctor, but he gets the job done.  That’s basically how I’d describe the movie as a whole: it gets the job done.  It didn’t knock my socks off, probably not gonna watch it again, but I did really enjoy it.  Rating: 8

IMDb

Leave a comment