Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

The Double Life of Veronique (rewatch)

Posted by martinteller on April 1, 2010

The comments I was going to make are pretty much the same things I said last time I watched this.  Pros: an intriguing concept, elegantly realized without being too gimmicky.  Wonderful use of parallels, and of distorted imagery.  Beautiful photography done in reds, greens, and yellows.  Marvelous Preisner (or “Budenmeyer” as his filmic alter ego is named) score.  Cons: puppeteer is kind of a creep, and the film is too unbalanced in favor of Veronique.  She gets twice as much time as Weronika, who I think is the more interesting character.  Nonetheless, I’m bumping my score back up to 9, albeit a “low” 9.  It’s so rich and enigmatic, and every time I seem to gain something new from it.  Rating: 9

IMDb

Leave a comment