Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

The Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner

Posted by martinteller on April 17, 2010

I don’t get too excited about the British “angry young man” films.  They all seem a bit same-y to me (which you could say of noir as well, but those are same-y in ways that I enjoy).  But I don’t mind them, and this one ain’t bad.  I didn’t care for certain touches like the goofy music or the sped-up bits, but the flashback style was interesting.  Richardson drops flashbacks on you without warning, but without being jarring.  Tom Courtenay makes a very relatable protagonist, with his cheeky rebelliousness and self-destructive whims.  I liked him a little more in Billy Liar, but he’s quite good here as well.  As a fan of Michael Redgrave, I wish he’d been put to better use.  Hmm… I dunno what else to say.  I find myself at a loss for words today.  Rating: 7

IMDb

One Response to “The Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner”

  1. […] L’Eclisse I Hate But Love Ivan’s Childhood La Jetée Kanchenjungha Knife in the Water The Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner Lonely Are the Brave Mamma Roma The Manchurian Candidate Pitfall Ride the High Country Sanjuro To […]

Leave a comment