Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Nihon shunka-ko (Sing a Song of Sex)

Posted by martinteller on July 23, 2010

Four high school students are completely preoccupied with getting laid and oblivious to everything else.  Oshima’s statement about the apathy of youth is effective but pretty one-note.  It’s also less compelling photographically than the other Oshimas I’ve seen, most of it is shot pretty straightforward.  The most compelling aspect was the use of songs, particularly when the kids would use bawdy tunes to drown out political/protest songs.  I also found it amusing that even in their rape fantasies, the boys are useless and ineffectual.  So, a few intriguing elements, but overall I wasn’t too impressed.  Rating: 6

IMDb

Leave a comment