Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

The Bridge on the River Kwai (rewatch)

Posted by martinteller on December 14, 2010

I hate to say it, but it’s another DVD (in this case, Blu-Ray) that I shouldn’t have bought.  Oh, the film is marvelous entertainment… great performances and moves like gangbusters.  I like that how no matter how delusional and insane Nicholson gets, he still makes a tiny bit of sense and his appeal to principle can be seductive.  But I’ve seen it about 5 times now and it’s just not something I’m going to want to watch again on a whim.  Poor David Lean… I really like his movies, but he’s not holding up well in my personal collection.  I’ve bought and sold Doctor Zhivago, Brief Encounter and now Kwai.  Maybe I should just leave the upcoming Blu-Ray of Lawrence of Arabia as a rental.  Rating: 9

IMDb

Leave a comment