Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Invasion of the Body Snatchers

Posted by martinteller on April 23, 2011

I was going to call this a rewatch because I was sure I saw it as a kid.  But it didn’t seem familiar (although I do have distinct memories of the 70’s remake) so maybe it’s my first viewing.  The buildup of tension and paranoia is crafted very well, and except for a couple of brief (and unnecessary) moments maintains the narrative consistency of being told from Kevin McCarthy’s viewpoint.  While there are no great performances, there are no bad ones either, and McCarthy holds it together nicely.  Likewise, the score and cinematography aren’t mind-blowing, but more than competent, with occasional impressive flourishes.  What really makes this film stand out is its allegorical nature.  Depending on how you perceive “the enemy”, and whether you take the film as precautionary or satirical, it can be read as either anti-Communist or anti-McCarthyism.  And even without this layer, it makes a rock solid sci-fi premise.  However, the producer-mandated ending is a shame, and the Donald Sutherland version clearly beats it in that sense.  Rating: 8

IMDb

Leave a comment