Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Moonrise Kindgom

Posted by martinteller on June 23, 2012

I need some time, and probably a second viewing, for this to really sink in and crystallize for me.  So instead of writing a proper review, I’m going to be extra lazy and just bang out some random words and thoughts.  Sorry.

Nostalgia…. little totems of personality sprinkled everywhere…. defining yourself in terms of the small worlds within worlds you inhabit…. there’s something incredibly magical about young adult novels, Anderson gets it…. sweetness of tween romance…. wonderful child actors…. melancholy, always melancholy and bittersweet…. signature camera movement…. terrific funny moments…. didn’t affect me as deeply as Tenenbaums but definitely one of Anderson’s better films…. McDormand, Swinton, Balaban and surprisingly Norton all work in this universe…. not quite as sure about Willis…. what glorious scoring by Desplat, the ending credits are a marvel…. I remember “The Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra” when I was a kid…. such adorable fondness for arts and crafts…. pins moving around on maps, delightful…. symmetry and asymmetry….. Rating: Great

IMDb

Leave a comment