Martin Teller's Movie Reviews

I watch movies, I write some crap

  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Broadway Melody of 1940

Posted by martinteller on January 27, 2012

A case of mistaken identity rockets a small-time dancer (George Murphy) to stardom.  His more talented partner (Fred Astaire) watches from the sidelines as his buddy threatens to steal all the glory, and the leading lady (Eleanor Powell).  I guess I should start with Astaire, who I unfavorably compared to Gene Kelly in my review of Summer Stock the other day.  Although I stand by my comparison, I didn’t mean to denigrate Astaire.  His moves are beautifully fluid yet precise, as in the wonderful solo number “I’ve Got My Eyes on You.”  I just don’t like him quite as much as a leading man.  But that’s not to say he isn’t charming, because he is.

Powell, on the other hand, is a bit of a problem.  Certainly a lovely gal and a talented stepper, but (in this film, at least) short on personality.  She just sort of hovers around and looks pretty.  The chemistry between her and Astaire is practically non-existent off the dance floor… and actually not so much on the dance floor either.  They just don’t click like Rogers and Astaire.  If the romance falters, however, the friendship between Astaire and Murphy provides some compelling character moments.  It’s the most interesting part of the story, watching Murphy crumble under the weight of his undeserved success while Astaire gamely tries to boost him up.  I also have to say that while “wacky misunderstanding” plots usually annoy me, this one was handled fairly well with a minimum of implausible mix-up humor.

The songs (most penned by Cole Porter) all range from good to very good.  The grand finale is “Begin the Beguine” which alternates between elaborate Berkeley-esque productions and Astaire/Powell tap dancing.  It runs a trifle long, but it’s a dandy tune.  The comedy is largely supplied by Frank Morgan as a talent scout who woos ladies with a constantly recycled ermine cape.  A handful of vaudeville acts — a juggler, a comic musical duo and an amusingly brief appearance by a unicyclist — add some variety to the mix without feeling like everything is grinding to a halt.

Not one I’d bother to watch again, but a generally entertaining diversion.  Rating: Good

IMDb

Leave a comment